Ingredient profile
Epimedium Sagittatum and Tribulus in Protoflow: What the Research Shows
Epimedium sagittatum is the plant also sold as horny goat weed, and Protoflow holds 250 mg of the whole plant per two capsules, plus 120 mg of tribulus fruit. Neither has solid human trial data for sexual function in men. Epimedium has case reports of a fast, irregular heartbeat, so heart patients should ask a doctor first.
Written by the Protoflow label deskUpdated
Epimedium
What is Epimedium sagittatum?
Epimedium sagittatum is a leafy herb, widely sold as horny goat weed. Protoflow lists 250 mg of the whole plant.
Epimedium is used in traditional Chinese formulas. Supplement makers sell it for energy and sexual function. Memorial Sloan Kettering says fatigue has not been studied in clinical trials and gives no trial data for sexual dysfunction (MSK, Epimedium).
At 250 mg per serving, epimedium ties hawthorn as the largest line on the label. That is 125 mg in each capsule. The label calls it "Epimedium Sagittatum (Whole Plant)" and names no extract.
The sales page names Epimedium sagittatum among eight ingredients (Protoflow sales page). Tribulus is not on that list, though it is on the label.
One trial is cited: a crossover study in Gulf War illness found no benefit (MSK, Epimedium). It tested Gulf War illness, not the prostate.
Icariin
What is icariin, and does the label state it?
Icariin is a compound found in epimedium. The Protoflow label does not state how much it holds.
Icariin is the plant compound most often named in epimedium marketing. Whole-plant powder can hold very different amounts depending on species, harvest and processing. A label that says "Whole Plant" and 250 mg tells you the weight of powder, not the icariin.
Icariin has one documented interaction worth knowing. MSK says it may reduce the effect of aromatase inhibitors, a class of breast cancer medicines, and advises caution with hormone-sensitive cancers (MSK, Epimedium). Because the amount is unknown, treat any epimedium product with that care.
Ask the order desk at Protoflow order desk for written specifications if you need the icariin figure. We have found none published.
Tribulus
Does tribulus raise testosterone in men?
No robust evidence says so. A 2025 review found no significant hormone change in 8 of 10 studies.
Tribulus terrestris fruit is sold as a testosterone and libido herb. The 2025 systematic review covered 10 studies and 483 men. Eight found no significant change in the androgen profile. Two showed a rise in total testosterone, of low clinical size, in men with hypogonadism. The authors call the evidence for hormones weak (Vilar Neto et al., Nutrients 2025).
Half the studies were of low methodological quality. For erections, tribulus helped in 3 of 5 studies that measured it, which the authors rate as a low level of evidence (Vilar Neto et al., Nutrients 2025).
Those studies used 400 to 750 mg a day for one to three months. Protoflow has 120 mg, about a third of the low end. The NCCIH states that no complementary approach has been shown safe and effective for sexual enhancement or ED (NCCIH, Erectile Dysfunction/Sexual Enhancement).
400 mg divided by 120 mg is 3.3. You would need more than three servings of Protoflow, 7 capsules, to reach the low end of the studied range. The label says do not exceed 2 a day.
Label vs research
What do human trials say about epimedium and tribulus?
Tribulus has small trials with low-level results. Epimedium has none for sexual function.
The table sets the Protoflow amounts next to what the sources found. No trial has tested Protoflow itself.
| Line | Per 2 capsules | Studied amount | What it found |
|---|---|---|---|
| Epimedium (whole plant) | 250 mg | No human dose established | No trial data for sexual function (MSK, Epimedium) |
| Tribulus (fruit) | 120 mg | 400 to 750 mg a day, 1 to 3 months | Low-level evidence for erections; no robust hormone rise (Vilar Neto et al., Nutrients 2025) |
Doctors treat the causes of erectile problems first, so they deserve a check-up (NIDDK, Erectile Dysfunction). A supplement is not a substitute.

Protoflow: from $1.63 a day60 capsules a bottle · packs of 2, 3 or 6 · 60-day money-back guarantee
See packsSafety
Is horny goat weed safe to take daily, and can epimedium affect blood pressure?
Safety studies are lacking. MSK lists a fast, irregular heartbeat as a possible effect and advises avoiding it with heart disease.
MSK lists sweating, rapid irregular heartbeat and mood changes. It describes case reports of a fast heart rhythm and of hypomania, a lifted mood state, in a 66-year-old man with heart failure. It says toxicity and safety evaluations are lacking (MSK, Epimedium).
The source reports no blood pressure finding, so we cannot say how epimedium moves it. The heartbeat reports are why people with heart disease are told to avoid it.
have a heart condition or take heart or blood pressure medicine, take an aromatase inhibitor, have a hormone-sensitive cancer, or are under 18. Keep taking prescribed medicine. See supplements and prostate medicines.
Daily use for long periods has not been studied. The label's own advice is to consult a physician if you take any medication.
Label lines
What do the epimedium and tribulus label lines show?
Two lines, two amounts, no standardization printed.
The profile cards below repeat the label amounts, the research range and the evidence level for both lines. Then move on to the next herb group.
| Name on the label | Epimedium Sagittatum (Whole Plant) |
|---|---|
| What it is | Horny goat weed; contains icariin |
| Group on this site | Vitality herbs |
| Amount per 2 capsules | 250 mg per 2 capsules |
| Amount per capsule | about 125 mg |
| On the sales page's list of 8? | Yes |
| Amount used in research | No human dose established |
| Strength of evidence | No trial data for sexual function |
| Marketed or traditional use | Traditional vitality herb |
| Main caution | Case reports of a fast, irregular heartbeat; safety studies are lacking. |
| Name on the label | Tribulus (Fruit) |
|---|---|
| What it is | Tribulus terrestris fruit |
| Group on this site | Vitality herbs |
| Amount per 2 capsules | 120 mg per 2 capsules |
| Amount per capsule | about 60 mg |
| On the sales page's list of 8? | No: on the label only |
| Amount used in research | 400-750 mg a day for 1-3 months in trials |
| Strength of evidence | No robust rise in testosterone; low-level evidence for erections |
| Marketed or traditional use | Sold for testosterone and libido |
| Main caution | Long-term safety research is thin. |
FAQ
Epimedium and tribulus questions
01What is Epimedium sagittatum?
Epimedium sagittatum is a herb sold as horny goat weed and used in traditional Chinese formulas. Protoflow lists 250 mg of the whole plant per two capsules. Trial data for sexual function are lacking (MSK, Epimedium).
02What is icariin?
Icariin is a plant compound found in epimedium and often named in its marketing. It may reduce the effect of aromatase inhibitors (MSK, Epimedium). The Protoflow label does not state how much icariin the 250 mg holds.
03Does tribulus raise testosterone in men?
No robust evidence says so. A 2025 review found no significant androgen change in 8 of 10 studies, and the two rises were small, in men with low hormone levels (Vilar Neto et al., Nutrients 2025). Protoflow has 120 mg of tribulus.
04Is horny goat weed safe to take daily?
Safety evaluations are lacking. Memorial Sloan Kettering lists sweating, a fast irregular heartbeat and mood changes, and advises avoiding it with heart disease (MSK, Epimedium). Ask your doctor before daily use.
05Does the label state icariin content?
No. The label prints Epimedium Sagittatum (Whole Plant) at 250 mg and no marker compound or extract ratio. Ask the order desk for written specifications if you need the figure.
06Can epimedium affect blood pressure?
The sources we read report no blood pressure finding for epimedium. They do report a fast, irregular heartbeat, so anyone on heart or blood pressure medicine should ask a doctor first (MSK, Epimedium).
07What do human trials say about tribulus?
Ten studies, 483 men: tribulus at 400 to 750 mg a day helped erections in 3 of 5 studies that tested them, at low evidence level, with no robust testosterone rise (Vilar Neto et al., Nutrients 2025). Protoflow's 120 mg is below that range.
Who wrote this
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the Protoflow label, the sales page and linked NIH, FDA, FTC, NHS and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . Learn about our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is run by Goprotoflow, a licensed U.S. retail desk for Protoflow, not by the manufacturer or by PhytoThrive Labs. We earn money when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More about Protoflow
Licensed U.S. retail desk for Protoflow
Ready to try Protoflow?
Check your medicines first, then pick a pack. Bigger packs cost less per day, and the 60-day money-back guarantee gives you two months to judge it.
- Secure ClickBank checkout
- 60-day guarantee
- Free US shipping on 3 and 6 bottles



